Skip to main navigation.


Central Iowa Power Cooperative (CIPCO) is a cooperative energy provider since 1946. Our members serve a population of nearly 300,000 rural and urban residents and more than 13,000 small and large commercial and industrial accounts.

Membership status is given to the 13 rural electric cooperatives and associations with an elected representative from each serving on the CIPCO board of directors. This governing body selects a Chief Executive Officer who is responsible for the day-to-day operations of the cooperative.

CIPCO supplies all power requirements for its member cooperatives, and as their power provider, we are dedicated to delivering quality, safe, and reliable service at the lowest possible cost.

CIPCO Year End Financials at a Glance

All or some of the renewable energy credits associated with the generation
may have been sold or may be sold in the future to other parties.

Key Facts


Des Moines, Cedar Rapids, Creston and Wilton


Member-owned, not-for-profit


Earnings above the cost of providing electric service are returned to member systems as patronage dividends


Stretches 300 miles diagonally across Iowa
Adjoins 12 of Iowa's 17 cities with populations greater than 25,000
Serves 58 of Iowa's 99 counties


307 member delivery points




Powered by Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Logo
Co-op Connections savings Co-ops and energy efficiency